Sanzaar releases 2020 Super Rugby fixtures


The 2020 Super Rugby tournament will kick off on 31 January and run uninterrupted for 21 weeks.

It will be the last season in which the 15-team conference format is used, with the tournament returning to a 14-team round-robin league format in 2021.

Full 2020 Super Rugby schedule

‘2020 will see a season of uninterrupted action from February to July due to the shift of the inbound international rugby window from June to July,’ said Sanzaar Super Rugby CEO Andy Marinos. ‘An earlier than usual start has been required to get through the 21-week tournament and provide the Sanzaar national teams with a clear week leading into the July Test series.

‘The complexity of the draw and managing logistics and scheduling that delivers a draw that is fair and equitable has been our priority. This has been achieved with a consultative and collaborative approach with the national unions, Super Rugby teams and broadcasters.’