SA Schools A share spoils with Wales U18


Wales U18 repelled a late SA Schools A onslaught as the teams drew 31-31 in Paarl on Tuesday.

The visitors were reduced to 14 boys late in the game when replacement Joe Hawkins was red-carded for a dangerous tackle.

SA Schools A attacked from a 5m scrum in the last play of the match, with replacement Renzo du Plessis coming within inches of scoring a try. But the Welsh ripped the ball away a couple of phases later and booted the ball into touch.

Wales U18 led 24-17 at half-time, with both teams going on to score four tries.

Hooker Teague Lolly grabbed a double for the hosts, with wingers Sonwabo Sokoyi and Sibusiso Javu also crossing the line.

SA Schools A – Tries: Teague Lolly (2), Sonwabo Sokoyi, Sibusiso Javu. Conversions: Jacques Rossouw (4). Penalty: Rossouw.
Wales U18 – Tries: Jake Morgan, Rhodri King, Ben Burnell, Mason Grady. Conversions: Tom Matthews (4). Penalty: Matthews

SA Schools A – 15 Jacques Rossouw, 14 Sonwabo Sokoyi 13  Tiaan Pretorius, 12 AJ Johnson, 11 Sibusiso Javu, 10 Sihlalo Benge, 9 Kabelo Mokheti, 8 Jarod Cairns (c), 7 Izan Esterhuizen, 6 Pierich Siebert, 5 Cornelius Rahl, 4 Raynard Roets, 3 Philip Masango, 2 Teague Lolly, 1 Dima Lebelo.
Subs: 16 Lukhanyo Vokozela, 17 Rynhardt Rijnsburger, 18 Gerhard van der Merwe, 19 Marco van Rhyn, 20 Sisonke Vumazonke, 21 Damion O’Connell, 22 Joseph Iye, 23 Indiphile Tyeda, 24 Renzo du Plessis, 25 Josh van Vreden, 26 Nsuku Baloyi.

Wales U18 –  15 Jake Morgan, 14 Mason Grady, 13 Bradley Roderick, 12 Tom Mathews, 11 Dan John, 10 Ben Burnell , 9 Luke Davies, 8 Rhys Thomas, 7 Ollie Howard, 6 Travis Huntley, 5 Ben Carter (c),  4 Christ Tshiunza, 3 Lewys Jones, 2 Rhodri King, 1 Theo Bevacqua.
Subs: 16 Oliver Burrows, 17 Kieran Stevens, 18 Archie Griffin, 19 James Fender, 20 Peter Vickers, 21 Alex Mann, 22 Joe Hawkins, 23 Ethan Lloyd, 24 Carrick McDonough, 25 Jake Thomas, 26 Morgan Richards.

Photo: @YouthWeeks/Twitter