SA prop criticised for lifting post padding

2019-12-03T10:44:42+02:00December 3rd, 2019|

Munster coach Johann van Graan believes Edinburgh prop Pierre Schoeman should have been sanctioned by the referee for lifting the post padding during their Pro14 match.

The former Bull did this in an attempt to prevent Munster from scoring a try against the padding.

Munster did eventually get over the line, with the referee letting Schoeman off with just a warning.

‘In my view, you can’t touch the goalposts,’ Van Graan told The42. ‘It is the safety of the game, you pull that up. There’s been another incident in world rugby, that was a yellow and straight penalty try.

‘We have got to keep with the values on the game. I’m not going to comment further on it but safety is paramount. If somebody hits the goalposts there and something happens to them … it’s really frustrating.’