Pollard caps off great year with Bulls award

Handre Pollard was named the Bulls' Player of the Year at their 2019 awards ceremony in Menlyn on Tuesday night.

The flyhalf, who recently joined French club Montpellier, played a key role in the Bulls' Super Rugby campaign that saw them reach the quarter-finals.

Another World Cup-winning Springbok, Duane Vermuelen, claimed the Super Rugby Player of the Year award.

The Currie Cup and Rugby Challenge Player of the Year awards were snapped up by Tim Agaba and Ruan Nortje respectively, while Muller Uys and Richard Kriel won the U21 and U19 Player of the Year awards.

Meanwhile, Burger Odendaal was named as Bulls captain for the 2020 Super Rugby tournament, with Trevor Nyakane his deputy.

Bulls awards winners:

Player of the Year: Handre Pollard
Super Rugby Player of the Year: Duane Vermeulen
Super Rugby Back of the Year: Burger Odendaal
Super Rugby Forward of the Year: Trevor Nyakane
Currie Cup Player of the Year: Tim Agaba
Rugby Challenge Player of the Year: Ruan Nortje
U21 Player of the Year: Muller Uys
U21 Back of the Year: Wian van Niekerk
U21 Forward of the Year: Hanru Sirgel
U19 Player of the Year: Richard Kriel

Sharks awards winners

Photo: Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix